Adieu

When waves retreat, I will not find your footprints
Your last trace, before you embarked on that ship
Staring at your vestiges now drifted away from me
I swallowed my tears before they fell into this sea.

Because the tears may cross the sea to meet you
To disclose my pain when I had bidden you adieu
No, I won’t let my this misery, dampen your spirits
It’s your deep charm that stuns and enamors me.

Fortifying my heart though a pain simmers within
I sighed, a new ordeal was on the verge to begin
The tangerine sky and this sea silently watch me
My eyes pretend, I hope, my pain they didn’t see.

And I felt as if the breeze crooned a familiar name
I tried to listen but no voice from the yonder came.
I knew while sitting alone on the shore of the sea
Some emotions were causing a commotion in me.

Whether the sea waves console, frown, or blame
From tomorrow, this life will not remain the same
Staring at your vestiges that drifted away from me
I bid adieu to your last glimpse waving in the sea.

copyright@Manoj Krishnan

Leave a comment